This is the "Home" page of the "Drewey Wayne Gunn Collection of Gay Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Drewey Wayne Gunn Collection of Gay Literature   Tags: bisexual and transgender, gay, gender studies, lesbian  

Resource guide to the Drewey Wayne Gunn Collection
Last Updated: Feb 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.tamuk.edu/gunn Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reception for Dr. Gunn

Please join us for a reception honoring Dr. Drewey Wayne Gunn on Thursday, October 22, 2015 at 2:00 p.m. on the 2nd floor of the James C. Jernigan Library.

 

The Drewey Wayne Gunn Collection of Gay Literature

 
Dr. D. Wayne Gunn in 1969
Dr. Drewey Wayne Gunn in 1969
 
Professor Emeritus Drewey Wayne Gunn joined the university faculty 1968–72. He left for a sojourn in Denmark (as a Fulbright teacher) and France, returning in 1977. He served in the Department of Language and Literature until his retirement in 2001. A North Carolina native, he received his B.A. from Wake Forest University and his M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In high school he set a goal of one day entering the Library of Congress catalog. A current search reveals fourteen entries; to them the World Catalog adds five more. He is a literary historian, editor, translator, and co-author of one novel on the relationship between French poets Verlaine and Rimbaud (currently being translated for a French edition). An early book, American and British Writers in Mexico, was translated into Spanish; the Mexican ministry of education placed copies in all schools and public libraries. Nobel laureate Octavio Paz singled it out for comment in one of his essays. Gunn received both the Texas A&M University-Kingsville Alumni Research Award (1982) and the Alumni Teaching Award (1996). Two of his books were finalists for a Lambda Literary Award. His latest book, Gay Novels of Britain, Ireland, and the Commonwealth, has been named a Library Journal (3/1/2015) best reference book. His life partner was Air France translator Jacques Murat.
 
Dr. Gunn, a long time friend of the Jernigan Library, has given this collection as a  first installment for the collection; the  second installment will arrive in the Library in the fall, and by the terms of his will the library will eventually receive his entire private collection of books.
 
Other donations to the Jernigan Library by Dr. Gunn may be found in the South Texas Archives.

 Drewey Wayne Gunn Collection

 

Drewey Wayne Gunn Donation Of Lesbian Literature

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip