This is the "Home" page of the "SciFinder Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SciFinder Scholar  

This guide is intended to provide guidance for searching SciFinder Scholar, which is a powerful bibliographic database for chemistry and related subjects, such as, biomedical sciences, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
Last Updated: Jan 5, 2016 URL: http://libguides.tamuk.edu/SciFinder_Scholar Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

This guide is intended to provide guidance for searching SciFinder Scholar, which is a powerful bibliographic database for chemistry and related subjects, such as, biomedical sciences, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.  SciFinder Scholar provides access to scientific information in journal and patent literature from around the world.  In this database one can: (1) explore by chemical structure or biological sequences; (2) explore by research topic, author, company, substance name, or reaction; (3) stay up-to-date on today's most recent scientific developments.

Click on Coverage Details for detailed scope of coverage of this database.

 1) Click on Searching Guide.  On this page is a link to Searching SciFinder Scholar.  This guide provides instructions for accessing articles, how to retrieve related information referred to in articles (i.e., substance and  reaction information, cited references), and also how to explore by substance identifier. 

Chemican Abstracts Service (CAS) requires everyone who is accessing Scifinder Scholar to register and set up an individual account.  On this searching guide, instructions are also included on steps to follow for the creation of one's own Scifinder personal account and how to sign on to SciFinder Scholar.

Access to SciFinder Scholar is available to Texas A&M University - Kingsville faculty, students, and staff only.  Furthermore, this university has only a single concurrent user license for SciFinder Scholar.  Therefore, if someone else is using it, it will not be possilbe to sign on. It will be necessary to try again later.  Please logout of SciFinder Scholar when done to allow access by another user.

2) Click on CAS Websites.  On this page are links to a) SciFinder How To Guides - Web Version, b) SciFinder Strategies, c) SciFinder General FAQ. 

3) Click on Tutorials.  On this page is a link to a series of tutorials for searching SciFinder Scholar.

4) Click on Alerts & Exporting Citations.  On this page are instructions on creating alerts and exporting citations.

 

 

If you have questions that cannot be answered here, please don't hesitate to:

 

SciFinder

SciFinder is an electronic version of the following Chemical Abstracts databases: CAplus (Chemical Abstracts) 1907+, CAS Registry (1957+), CASREACT 1907+, CA Patent Index 1907+, ChemCats. SciFinder provides direct access to more than 8000 journals and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations). The database includes more than 26 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. NOTE CONCERNING WEB ACCESS: For normal web access and searching SciFinder requires that each TAMUK user create a personal account. Once the personal account is created, the user must login each time the database is used. To register go to http://lib.tamuk.edu/scifinder_registration.htm. For more information on accessing the Library's password protected page with links to instructions and the TAMUK SciFinder registration link, see the Reference Desk or contact Bruce R. Schueneman, BRS@tamuk.edu

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip