This is the "Home" page of the "Javelina Discovery" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Javelina Discovery  

This guide has been created as an introduction to Javelina Discovery (EBSCO Discovery EDS).
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tamuk.edu/JavelinaDiscovery Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide has been created as an introduction to Javelina Discovery (EBSCO Discovery Service EDS).

 

What is Javelina Discovery?

Javelina Discovery (EDS) is a point of entry that allows the user access to most of TAMUK's entire collection via one search.

In other words, it is a single entry point for searching almost all the databases the Library subscribes to as well as OASIS, the Library's online catalog.

It also indexes thousands of journals from publishers such as Cambridge, Elsevier, Sage, Taylor & Francis, and Wiley.

Searches may be limited to subject, full text availability, scholarly designation, source type, date, location, language.

Javelina Discovery is a powerful, user friendly EBSCO interface.

The Basic Search is the default search option with one limiter: keyword, title or author.

The Advanced Search will be familiar to EBSCO users as all of the tools from limiters to folders to saving, to exporting, to printing are available.

 

 

When to Use Javelina Discovery

Javelina Discovery is a great place to start searching.  It helps to quickly find relevant sources on any subject without having to decide which database to search.

However, to take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, you may choose to search specific subject relevant databases.  Business Source Complete, Medline, PsycINFO and other databases have very powerful features that may best be used by going directly to the database.  Individual databases are located in the Online Resources LibGuide

Also, while physical materials held by the library are included in Javelina Discovery, if you know that you need a physical book in the Jernigan Library collection, it may be best to search the online catalog (OASIS) alone as the many millions of possible online results will be eliminated from the search.

 

Javelina Discovery Results: A Brief Primer

Javelina Discovery Results

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip